Online Enquiry T: 01229 585 778 | E:
Ulverston Town Council Office, County Square, Ulverston, Cumbria LA12 7LZ

Follow us: Facebook Twitter
Ulverston Town Council   |   Weather: Cloudy


Meet your Councillor

ULVERSTON TOWN COUNCIL has 18 unpaid volunteer councillors. Some of them also represent Ulverston at South Lakeland District Council and Cumbria County Council. They represent the 6 Ulverston Wards (See map below)


2018 - 2019

Cllr Sharon Webster

Cllr Amanda Rigg


Councillors for Town Ward

David Webster:
3. Sands Close, Ulverston, LA12 9PP 01229 585884. Elected 2016

Judith Ann Pickthall:
25 Fountain Street, Ulverston, LA12 7EQ
01229 480666. Elected 2008

Robert (Bob) Brown

Councillors for Central Ward

Pauline Halfpenny:
Hammerside Cottage, Canal Foot, Ulverston, LA12 9EL
01229 584300. Elected 2016

Paul Smith:
9 Union Lane, Ulverston LA12 7BU 07817680574. Elected 2012

Councillors for North Ward

Helen Irving:
11 Garden Terrace, Ulverston LA12 7DA 01229 581454 Elected 2008

Colin Pickthall:
25 Fountain Street, Ulverston LA12 7EQ 01229 480666 Elected 2012

Caroline Tennyson:
15 Church Walk, Ulverston, LA12 7EN 0752 8964 700 Elected 2016

Councillors for South Ward

Norman Bishop-Rowe:
48 Sands Road, Ulverston, LA12 9PR .0773 1883 732. (Elected 2000)

Amanda Rigg:
Red House, North Lonsdale Road, Ulverston, LA12 9DX 0751 1899 300
(Elected 2008)

Andrew Butcher:
150 North Lonsdale Road, Ulverston, LA12 9DZ
0788 4411 662

Councillors for East Ward

Sharon Webster:
3 Sands Close, Ulverston, LA12 9PP 01229 585884 Elected 2016

Mark Wilson:
7 Parkfield, Swarthmoor, Ulverston, LA12 0HW 0793 0921902 Elected 2012

Shirley-Anne Wilson:
Elected May 2018
Tel (01229 586404) e mail

Councillors for West Ward

Janette Ethel Jenkinson:
Barne House, Broad Dale, Ulverston LA12 7SE 01229 585305 Elected 2000

Pat Jones:
49 Birkett Drive, Ulverston LA12 9LN
01229 583588. Elected 2016

South Lakeland DIstrict Councillors representing Ulverston who sit on Ulverston Town Council
Elected May 2016:

East Ward:
Mark Wilson, Shirley-Anne Wilson, Dave Webster

West Ward:
Helen Irving, Janette Jenkinson.

Cumbria County Councillors representing Ulverston - Elected May 2012:

Mr. M. Wilson
7 Parkfield, Swarthmoor, Ulverston LA12 OHW

The council is currently a Labour and Conservative council. There are 10 Labour councillors and 8 conservative councillors with elected councillors serving different electoral wards in Ulverston:

View Map of Wards

Some of the councillors are also District and County Council councillors.

In April every year the Annual Town Meeting is held. It is presided over by the Mayor who describes the work of the town council for that year; the budget is available for scrutiny and the Mayor distributes cheques to local charities from his/her Charity fund.

In May every year, a new Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected at the Town Council meeting. The Mayor is also the Chair of the Council and acts in a Civic and Ceremonial role. A civic Sunday ceremony takes place on the second Sunday in June.

The Leader of the council, is normally the leader of the largest political group on the council. This role is principally to ensure that due democratic process is followed if a town council vacancy occurs. A full description of this role can be found the councils standing orders.

Ulverston Town Council meets on the third Monday of every month at 7pm in the Supper Room at the Coronation Hall. It deals with all planning issues, and other issues brought to it for consideration by the standing committees. For example, it will approve the annual budget, presented by the Finance and Grants Committee. It has the final say on all matters.

There are three standing committees of the council:

  • Finance and grants
  • HR
  • Allotments.

Becoming a Councillor

Anybody can become a councillor by putting put themselves forward for election, as long as they have an Ulverston postal address.