01229 585 778 | admin@ulverstoncouncil.org.uk

Ulverston Town Council Office, County Square, Ulverston, Cumbria LA12 7LZ

Ulverston Town Council - Serving the Ulverston Community
Ulverston Town Council logo mobile

01229 585 778 | admin@ulverstoncouncil.org.uk

Slide 1
Take a walk down the
Explore everything
has to offer...
Slide 1
Take a walk down the
Explore everything
has to offer...
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Council Committees

Town Mayor: Cllr Michelle Scrogham

Deputy Mayor: Cllr David Webster

Full Council

All councillors.

Standing Committees:

Finance and General Purposes Committee:

Cllrs: M. Wilson, B. Brown, N. Bishop Rowe, J.  Drake, T. Irving, M. Hornby, G. Scrogham, P. Smith, D. Webster

Allotments Standing Committee:

Cllrs: G. Scrogham, H. Irving, S. Archer

Environmental Sustainability Standing Committee:

Cllrs: J. Filmore, G. Scrogham, J. Drake, T. Irving, S. Archer. P. Smith

HR Committee:

(4-year appointment/term of council)

Cllrs: D. Webster, M. Scrogham, J. Drake, M. Hornby, H. Irving

Council Charities and Trust appointments:

United Charities: All Councillors are trustees

United Charities represent a number of small charities primarily established by individuals in the early part of the 20th century. These small sums have been amalgamated and produce a small annual dividend which is distributed annually.

CGP Trustees

(4-year appointment of council)

The town council administer this fund on behalf of CGP Books (Broughton).

Cllrs: S. Webster, D. Fletcher Cooney, M. Wilson, N. Bishop Rowe, M. Hornby, T. Irving

Ulverston Town Lands Trust:

(4 years appointment which runs from the date of the appointment and is not linked to the financial year or term of the council. Council can appoint members who are NOT elected councillors if it wishes)

4 years to 19. 08. 2024                   Cllr. D. Webster. Mrs S.A. Wilson

4 years to 28. 07. 2024                   Cllr.  P. Smith

4 years to 23. 05. 2026                   Cllr T. Irving

4 years to 13. 05. 2027                   Mrs J. Hancock

4 years to 21. 11. 2027                   Cllr. M. Hornby

Other Committees

Ulverston Community Partnership (Marketing committee funded by UTC)

Cllrs: G. Scrogham, M. Scrogham, M. Hornby, N. Bishop Rowe.

(+ P. Winston, Town Clerk, J. Wales, J. Hancock, A. Nicholaides, B. Kennedy)

Ulverston – Albert Twinning Association:

The Albert Twinning Association was established in 1974 by the town council, and the town council works in partnership with the Albert Association. The town council provide civic support to the association; the Mayor has attended formal events in Albert (Northern France) and the town council fund a civic meal for formal visits from Albert and the Albert Association members.

Cllrs: B. Brown, D. Webster, S Webster. D. Fletcher Cooney. H. Irving, T. Irving, M. Hornby

External Organisations:

All members appointed by town council are observers and do not have any voting rights (with the exception of CALC) nor do they have executive powers. Members are asked to report back to council from time to time.

  • Gill Banks Action Group (GBAG):                    Cllrs: J. Drake, G. Scrogham
  • John Ambulance:                                              Cllr: N. Bishop-Rowe
  • Air Training Corps:                                            Cllr: N. Bishop-Rowe
  • Age Concern:                                                    Cllrs: S. Webster, N. Bishop-Rowe
  • Croftlands Community Association:                  Cllrs: P. Smith, T. Irving
  • Ulverston Inshore Rescue:                                Deputy Mayor
  • Ulverston Town Band:                                       Cllr: H. Irving
  • Ulverston Traders Association:                          Cllrs: D. Webster, M. Scrogham, N. Bishop-Rowe
  • Ulverston in Bloom:                                            Cllrs: J. Filmore, M. Scrogham
  • Ulverston Business Improvement District (BID) Cllrs: D. Webster, H. Irving
  • Carnival Committee:                                           Cllr: M. Wilson
  • Lantern Festival:                                                 Cllrs: G. Scrogham, S. Archer
  • Dickensian Festival:                                            Cllrs: S. Webster, H. Irving
  • Cumbria Association of Local Councils (CALC): Cllrs: D. Webster, M. Hornby
  • Borderlands:                                                        Cllrs: B. Brown, T. Irving

Can't find what you are looking for? Search the site...

Contact us

Call: 01229 585 778

Email: admin@ulverstoncouncil.org.uk

Ulverston Town Council Office
County Square
LA12 7LZ